

Association of

NJ RECYCLERS

Beyond the Curb...

Recyclers: Builders for a Greener Earth, the 22nd Annual Recycling Symposium & Awards Luncheon at the Westin Princeton, Forrestal Village, Princeton, N.J., October 16, 2002

Dennis DeMatte, Jr., Cumberland County recycling coordinator, received the 2002 ANJR Recycling Excellence (REX) Award. Mary Sheil, former director of the N.J. Office of Recycling, accepted the Fred Schmitt Award, and several elementary school students were honored for their outstanding poems about recycling.

- Large business L'Oreal USA, Cranbury Twp.
- County newsletter Gloucester County Improvement Authority Office of Recycling
- Municipal newsletter Sylvia Banbor, Borough of Rockaway
- Municipal coordinator Joanne Baranowski, Pittsgrove Twp.
- County program Bergen County Utilities Authority-Public Education Program
- Outreach/media June Steelman, Burlington County College
- Recycling industry Supreme Computer Recycling, Lakewood
- Institution/school South Woods State Prison, Bayside State Prison and Southern State Correctional Facility, all located in Cumberland County
- Commissioner's Award Somerset County Solid Waste Management Program
- Commissioner's Award B. Ellie Arnould-Tomb



The latest crop of Certified Recycling Professionals (CRPs) pose after receiving their certificates at the ninth annual New Jersey Recycling Certification Series graduation on October 16, 2002. Seated, l. to r.: Susan Konen, Burlington County; Melissa Harvey, Somerset County; Janice Husted, Burlington County; Liz Sweedy, Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority; Carol Broccoli, Cook College Office of Continuing Professional Education (OCPE). Standing, l. to r.: Jim Morris, OCPE; Ned Lipman, OCPE; Richard Fernicola, Village of South Orange; Richard Baroch, Bergen County Utilities Authority (BCUA); Mark Vangieri, BCUA; Edward Snow, Lumberton Twp.; John Castner, N.J. Department of Environmental Protection. Not pictured: Dennis Higgins, Lakewood Twp.; William Mantel, Freehold Twp.; Joseph Mauriello, West Orange Twp.; Nina Seiden, BCUA.

Drive Home Recycling, the 23rd Annual Recycling Symposium & Awards Luncheon at Forsgate Country Club, Monroe Township, N.J., October 15, 2003

Kathleen Hourihan, Morris County recycling coordinator, was the recipient of the 2003 ANJR REX Award, and for the second year in a row, a number of elementary school students were honored for their poems that focused on recycling. In addition, the following awards for outstanding achievement in recycling were given:

- Resource management Public Service Electric & Gas, Newark
- Multifamily housing Acacia Lumberton Manor, Inc., Lumberton
- Municipal newsletter/brochure Borough of Sayerville
- Municipal program Village of Ridgewood
- Municipal coordinator–Mary Ellen Lyons, Borough of Hawthorne
- County coordinator Dennis DeMatte, Jr., Cumberland County
- Outreach/media Atlantic County Utilities Authority
- Source reduction Verizon, East Orange
- Source reduction Mannington Mills, Salem
- Student/teacher-Den 9, Pack 224 Cub Scouts, South Plainfield
- Student/teacher Second grade teachers, Middle Twp. Elementary One
- Commissioner's Award Joseph Matteo of Magnus Environmental Corp., Wilmington, DE
- Commissioner's Award Drs. Thomas Nosker, Jennifer Lynch and Richard Renfree, Rutgers University Department of Ceramic and Materials Engineering, Center for Advanced Materials Via Immiscible Polymer Processing, New Brunswick



On October 15, 2003, nearly one year later, members of the Class of 2003 are pictured following their graduation ceremony. Seated, l. to r.: Renee Guidotti, Public Service Electric & Gas; Janet Pellichero, Princeton Twp.; Barbara Vanderbeck, Panasonic; Carol Broccoli, OCPE. Standing, l. to r.: Thomas Calvanico; Stephen Hill, Lakewood Twp.; Derek Polzer, Town of Morristown; Ned Lipman, OCPE; Barry Cook, City of East Orange; Jim Morris, OCPE; Gerald Young, Village of Ridgewood. Not pictured: Eugene MacMahon, Borough of Oakland; John Spooner, Plainfield Municipal Utilities Authority. (photos by Kate Coronari)

Save \$ for Yourself and Raise \$ for ANJR What a Deal!

Called the Affinity Program, it's sponsored by LaserSave, a member of ANJR. Very simple in both concept and implementation, the Affinity Program involves your working with LaserSave when you need supplies or servicing for laser printers, Deskjets, fax or copy machines.

The program will benefit you, the participant, as well as ANJR, in the following three ways:

- Costs for your supplies will immediately be reduced by 30% or more.
- 2. Cartridges will be diverted from the waste stream as a result of your returning them to LaserSave.
- LaserSave will donate 30% of the amount of your invoice to ANIR.

If you are not the decision-maker about purchasing supplies or servicing for laser printers, etc., please give this information about the Affinity Program to the person who is. For more information, call Alan Yoss at Laser Save (732-431-3339) or Marie Kruzan at ANJR (908-722-7575).

We Want Your Feedback

This is ANJR's new style for *Beyond the Curb....* In the past, *Beyond the Curb...* has been four to eight pages in length. With this new style, we will attempt to keep it shorter and publish it more frequently. Additionally, we have e-mailed it to those members for whom we have e-mail addresses and will mail to the remaining members. Let us know what you think about the new style and distribution method. E-mail us at anjr@verizon.net.

ANJR Goes High-Speed

ANJR has a new high-speed internet connection. As a result, we now have a new fax number (908) 722-0280 and e-mail address anjr@verizon.net. Please take note of the new information and update your address book. Our telephone number has not changed.

A group of "REXies" assemble at the 2003 symposium and awards luncheon



On the day when Kathleen Hourihan was named recipient of the 2003 REX (Recycling Excellence) Award, she and all of the former award recipients who were at the luncheon gathered for a photo. (The year printed next to each name is the year during which the award was given.) Kneeling next to planet Earth, left to right: Penny Jones, 1997; Virginia Lamb, 2000. Standing behind planet Earth, I. to r.: Dominick D'Altilio, 2001; Ann Moore, 1994; Kathleen Hourihan, 2003; Dennis DeMatte, Jr., 2002; Nancy Paquette, 1995; Anthony Giordano, Sr., 1998. Not pictured: Ron Hutchinson, 1996; Linda Hardy, 1999. (photo by Wayne DeFeo)

Save the Date and Register Today! Friday, June 11, 2004

For more information on a conference entitled, "Buy Green and Save Green: Purchasing Strategies for NJ Local Governments and School Districts," hosted by the Solid Waste Policy Group at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, visit their website at: http://aesop.rutgers.edu/~envpurchase/eppconf/



President

Dominick D'Altilio

Executive Director

Marie Kruzan